UC statement on President Trump's executive order

Dear Members of the UCSF Community,

Please see the message below from President Janet Napolitano, myself and the other Chancellors of the University of California regarding the executive order on border security and immigration. We are sharing this with the UCSF community on behalf of President Napolitano. Our statement also is available online.


Sam Hawgood, MBBS


Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor


President Janet Napolitano and the Chancellors of the University of California today (January 29) issued the following statement:

We are deeply concerned by the recent executive order that restricts the ability of our students, faculty, staff, and other members of the UC community from certain countries from being able to enter or return to the United States.

While maintaining the security of the nation's visa system is critical, this executive order is contrary to the values we hold dear as leaders of the University of California. The UC community, like universities across the country, has long been deeply enriched by students, faculty, and scholars from around the world, including the affected countries, coming to study, teach, and research. It is critical that the United States continues to welcome the best students, scholars, scientists, and engineers of all backgrounds and nationalities.

We are committed to supporting all members of the UC community who are impacted by this executive action.

President Janet Napolitano

University of California

Chancellor Nicholas B. Dirks

University of California, Berkeley

Interim Chancellor Ralph Hexter

University of California, Davis

Chancellor Howard Gillman

University of California, Irvine

Chancellor Gene Block

University of California, Los Angeles

Chancellor Dorothy Leland

University of California, Merced

Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox

University of California, Riverside

Chancellor Pradeep Khosla

University of California, San Diego

Chancellor Sam Hawgood

University of California, San Francisco

Chancellor Henry T. Yang

University of California, Santa Barbara

Chancellor George R. Blumenthal

University of California, Santa Cruz